The Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Arts Awards celebrate Alberta’s rich cultural fabric by honouring its most accomplished artists and supporting professional artists in the early stages of their careers. 


Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up for the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Arts Awards Foundation newsletter.

Sign Up


Since its establishment in 2003, the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Arts Awards Foundation has recognized 53 Emerging Artists and 17 Distinguished Artists, each with deep routes and strong connections to Alberta. They represent the province’s finest creative minds – writers, visual artists, musicians, performance artists, and designers.

The Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Distinguished Artist Award is Alberta’s most prestigious recognition of outstanding achievement in the arts. Our 17 Distinguished Artists include renowned architect, Douglas Cardinal; painter Alex Janvier; theatre troupe One Yellow Rabbit; and authors Aritha van Herk, Alice Major, Greg Hollingshead, Rudy Wiebe, and the late Robert Kroetsch, among others.

On September 21, 2019 we will add up to three new names to this celebrated group. Individuals or organizations may nominate an artist, artist collective, or arts builder for a Distinguished Artist Award between November 2018 and March 31, 2019.

Help us celebrate Alberta’s finest by nominating a distinguished artist for recognition with a 2019 Distinguished Artist award.